Board of directors

The company has the following board members:

Thomas Fredrik Olsen (Fred. Olsen) (b. 1929), Chairman. Mr. Olsen has been chairman of the Board since 1955. He is a Doctor of the University of Heriot Watt, a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Naval Architects and further holds the titles of Industry Pioneer from the Offshore Energy Center Hall of Fame in Galveston, Texas and the Institutium Canarium’s Dominik Wölfel Medal, Vienna. He was chairman of the Aker Group from 1957 to 1975 and from 1977 to 1981, chairman of Timex Corporation (USA) from 1980 to 2002 and of Harland & Wolff, Belfast from 1989 to 2001. He co- founded and was later chairman of the Norwegian Oil Consortium AS (NOCO), 1965-1983, and was a board member of SAGA Petroleum AS from 1972 to 1983. He was further chairman of Widerøe’s Flyveselskap AS, 1970-1983. Mr. Olsen has pioneered within tanker developments, rig developments (Aker H3 drilling design), watch developments and he headed the transition of the Aker yards from shipbuilding into offshore. He is member of the Norwegian Shipping Association’s Advisory Board. Mr. Olsen is a Norwegian citizen and resides in Oslo, Norway.

Helen M. Mahy (b. 1961) has been a member of the Board since 2013. She is qualified as a barrister and was an associate of the Chartered Insurance Institute. From 2003 to 2013 she was Group Company Secretary and General Counsel of the major UK utility company National Grid plc. Ms. Mahy is chair of The Renewables Infrastructure Group Ltd (a fund listed on the London Stock Exchange) and chair of the advisory board of Obelisk Legal Support Limited. She is also a non executive director of Stagecoach Group plc where she chairs the Health, Safety and Environment Committee. She was formally a non- executive director of Aga Rangemaster Group plc and a former chair of the GC100. Ms. Mahy is a British citizen and resides in Oxted, Surrey (UK).

Carol Bell (b. 1958) joined the board in 2014. She holds an MA in Natural Sciences from the University of Cambridge and a PhD in Archaeology from University College London. Since 2000, after having worked within the oil and gas industry and investment banking (with JP Morgan and Chase Manhattan), she has divided her time between a range of activities, notably being non-executive director in the energy sector, conducting academic research and as a charity trustee. She currently sits on the boards of PGS ASA and Salamander Energy plc. She is also a board member of the Columbia based oil and gas company Amerisur Resources Plc., which is listed on the London Stock Exchange, AIM Market. She has also served on the boards of Hardy Oil & Gas plc., Revus Energy ASA, Det norske oljeselskap ASA and Caracal Energy Inc. She is a trustee of the Renewable Energy Foundation (a UK think tank) the National Museum of Wales, The British School at Athens, Cardiff University and the Institute for Archaeometallurgical studies. Ms. Bell is a British citizen and resides in London and Cardiff.  

Nicholas (Nick) A. Emery (b. 1961) was appointed to the board in 2014. He is a qualified Management Accountant.  He has worked in various Fred. Olsen- related companies for close to 30 years and until April 2013 was the CEO of Fred. Olsen Renewables AS where he still holds a board position. As from April 2013 he holds the position of CEO of the privately owned Fred. Olsen Ltd. (UK).  He is Chairman of the following Fred. Olsen Limited subsidiaries: The Natural Power Consultants Limited, SeaRoc Group Limited, Zephir Limited and Fred. Olsen Travel Limited. Mr Emery is a British Citizen and resides in Brentwood, Essex.  

Andreas C. Mellbye (b. 1955) has been a member of the Board since 2001 and before that served as alternate. Mr. Mellbye is a candidate in jurisprudence from the University of Oslo in 1983 and became partner of Wiersholm, Mellbye & Bech in 1989. Before joining Wiersholm he worked for Conoco, London and Norsk Hydro in their legal departments. He was admitted to the Norwegian Supreme Court in 1995. Mr. Mellbye specializes in the areas of corporate transactions, mergers & acquisitions, securities/stock exchange law and litigation and has acted in several large cases within these areas. He holds various board and committee positions including chairman of Martina Hansens Hospital, Lorentzens Skibs AS and Rentokil Norge AS. He is a member of the Securities Law Forum of the Oslo Stock Exchange. Mr. Mellbye is a Norwegian citizen and resides in Bærum, Norway.